SSB Chapter History

South Side Brushes was founded on June 2, 2003 at the home of Diane Masloroff. Present at the first meeting was Diane Masloroff, Marge Coughlin, Bettie Slazyk, Sue Taylor, Carol Wiksten and Mary Ann Pedersole. The name of South Side Brushes was suggested by Diane Masloroff at the second meeting on June 23, 2003 at her home.
On September 27, 2003 our Chapter was introduced by having our first annual "ArtFest" meeting. Our new Chapter had 40 members as a result of this meeting.
At the October 29, 2003 board meeting, Marge Coughlin proposes the name "Brushstrokes" for our newsletter name.
Our first installation of Officers was officiated by Ann Johnson, Vice President/President-elect of the Society of Decorative Painters on January 17, 2004. Our first Officers were:
President - Diane Masloroff
1st Vice President - Marge Coughlin
2nd Vice President - Carol Wiksten
Secretary - Bettie Slazyk
Treasurer - Sue Taylor
At our March 20, 2004 meeting, Chris Henry's design was the winner of the logo contest for our Chapter.
And in May 2004, in Phoenix, Arizona, our Chapter became affiliated at the Convention of the Society of Decorative Painters.